My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Picnic at the Duck Pond August 18, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 11:35 pm

Today was another park date, this time at a nearby duck pond.  Again, these lunches needed to be packed to fill tummies from lunch to a late-ish dinner with gymnastics in between.

The Contents: Mini pita sandwiches topped with a cheese duck, mini banana muffin swimming in a pond of chocolate goldfish.  Carrot sticks, celery sticks stuffed with cashew nut butter (for those that approve), grapes, nectarine slices and kiwi slices.

The Details: Mini pitas are stuffed with turkey or pastrami and cheese.  Dude wanted two and they stack nicely on top of each other.  The eyes are made of kiwi seeds and the wings are just bits of kiwi. Slightly different layouts of lunches depending on whether or not the particular kiddo would eat celery.

The Verdict:  Slices of fruit are too hard to eat, chunks are much easier and cleaner which will become important once school starts.

I think these lunches show off the flexibility of these particular boxes.  I removed all but one insert and was able to fit the slightly too big pita pockets.  Silicone cups kept the goldfish in place.  I personally can’t stand fruit touching the sandwiches (makes the bread soggy) so I kept it contained in one quadrant.

One other benefit that I’ve found for these boxes is that its pretty easy to try a new food option.  In this case, I offered my youngest one celery stuffed with cashew nut butter.  It didn’t take a lot of space and he had plenty of other food options when it turned out that he didn’t like it.

And finally, Just for Kicks, I often forget to pack myself lunch, don’t know why.  But today I managed to do a box for myself.  Not very exciting, but here it is!  Pastrami, cheese and cucumber on a thin, surrounded by grapes.

 

3 Responses to “Picnic at the Duck Pond”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I like these boxes too. Where did you find yours? I think I missed that somewhere, sorry!

  2. my3kidcircus Says:

    I found them at H-Mart, which is an Asian grocery store. They are not in all states, but perhaps in yours? I have seen other people say they’ve found them at Target as well. Good luck in finding one, I do love them!

  3. Bar 7 Ranch Says:

    Im hopping over from WFLW. Nice bentos! I love my Lock n Lock boxes too!


Leave a Reply

