My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Spinach Wraps August 24, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 7:10 pm

I love my daughter.  She’s willing to try just about anything, and while she definitely loves her junk food, she also has a good sense for getting healthy food into her body too.  Read on:

The Contents: Spinach, salami and cheese wrap; frozen peas, corn and carrot shreds; pear bites; homemade granola bar

The Details: Yesterday, I made a lasagna  and had layered spinach and shredded carrots into the dish as well.  I’m a sneaky mom that way (not really, my kids are just good eaters for the most part).  I had leftover veggies so I was playing around with how I could use it up for lunches.  My original wrap used a spinach leaf as the “wrap” with a filler of salami and cheese.  My daughter loved it and requested it for lunch, however, I could not get the leaves to hold.  I ended up using a tortilla to make a traditional wrap with the aforementioned contents inside.  I added extra spinach behind the wrap since my daughter loves raw spinach.   I added the carrot shreds into frozen peas and corn.  And in my cooking frenzy, I also whipped up a batch of homemade granola bars.  If I haven’t mentioned it before, I really love the option of pulling out a couple of the quadrants of this Lock ‘n Lock box and using the length of the box for things like wraps or tacos.  And by moving the remaining quadrants to the center of the base, I was able to stabilize my wrap as well.

The Verdict: My health nut daughter unwrapped her wrap and just ate the filling…she did make a comment that it was embarrassing to eat spinach in front of her friends.  She LOVED the carrots in the frozen veggie combo.  I think its pretty too.

 

2 Responses to “Spinach Wraps”

  1. LaRee Says:

    Would you mind sharing your recipe for granola bars? I have yet to find one that isn’t too crumbly to eat on the go.


Leave a Reply

