My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Fail. September 10, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 12:46 pm

One of the reasons I enjoy Bento lunch boxes is that it forces me to be creative in my lunch planning.  I find fun ideas that I want to try, and I believe that the variety in my kids’ lunches keeps them interested and willing to try new things.  I am blessed to have mostly non-picky eaters, but that doesn’t mean its not easy to fall into a rut.  I’ve been wanting to try these “sushi sandwiches” and Friday seemed like the right day.

The Contents – 4 ham and cheese sushi rolls on whole wheat bread, cheese pirate’s booty, cantaloupe, watermelon, carrot sticks, broccoli, grapes and a mini cupcake.

The Details – My kids don’t particularly care for cream cheese on their sandwiches, so I used one of those cow cheese wedges and sliced ham for their sandwiches.  Each of them got the equivalent of a half sandwich, which is normal for them.  I parboil the broccoli as neither of them like it raw and by lunchtime, its just right.  I sometimes wonder if other kids will start to make fun of my kids for eating broccoli at lunch, but until they complain, I’m sending it.

The Verdict – Fail.  Granted, my daughter did not really give her lunch a fair try:  her class is allowed to celebrate birthdays on Fridays, and guess who got a cupcake right BEFORE lunch (and a second one right before going home but that’s a different rant)?  So most of her lunch came home uneaten, but even at that, she said she did not really care for the sushi roll sandwiches.  Dude had the same reaction.  They were eaten, but he’s usually so hungry by lunch that he’ll eat slugs.

And me?  I thought they were kind of a pain to make.  A friend mentioned that unhealthier bread works better, but I’m not ready to give up my healthier bread in exchange for presentation.  Especially when my kids are happy to eat sandwiches without any extra attention.  Perhaps I’ll try a different ingredient combination?

 

Leave a Reply

