My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Ham and Cheese September 16, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 9:26 am

Another experimental lunch.  Inspired by all of those moms who do biscuits, and considering that we did up a batch of biscuits for dinner last night, it seemed like a good time to try this lunch variation out.

The Contents – Ham and cheese biscuit, ham and mandarin orange skewers, fruit salad (kiwi, apples and more mandarin oranges), popcorn

The Details – The biscuits were easy.  I used the biscuit recipe on the back of the Bisquick box as the base.  I patted a hunk of dough into greased muffin tins, threw on chopped ham and grated cheese and then baked them at 400 for 10 minutes.  A half recipe made six muffins.  My proportions of dough to filling was off so I added more meat on skewers so that my kids would get their fill of protein but they were otherwise a good option.  I also dropped the muffin into a silicone liner so that the fruit salad juice wouldn’t make the muffin soggy.

The Verdict – I ended up eating one for lunch and thought it was okay.  I don’t particularly care for cold biscuits and so I threw mine into the microwave.  I’m not sure I would have liked it cold.  The kids however, LOVED them.  Next time I’ll try reducing the dough and adding more filling…and possibly try wrapping the filling into the dough as well.  Lunchboxes licked clean.  Mission accomplished.

 

Leave a Reply

