My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Pizza! Pizza! Version II October 1, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 9:10 pm

There’s really nothing hugely spectacular about this lunch, but my kids LOVED it so I must share.

The Contents – pizza rolls, garbanzo beans, pretzels, apple slices, nectarine chunks, applesauce and an un-pictured cookie.

The Details – Pizza rolls.  You can’t really go wrong, can you?  Earlier this week, we did English Muffin pizzas so I had an open jar of sauce and lots of pepperoni to use up.  I also had a stray can of crescent rolls and figured I’d throw them all together.  Unroll the dough, smear a little pizza sauce, sprinkle some cheese, add a couple of slices of meat and roll it all up.  Easy peasy.  Not the healthiest option, but it was fun and I’ll be looking for a better version of of dough.

The missing cookie?  My daughter took cookies into school for her birthday today and since they had to be store bought, we stopped on the way to school.  I threw one into Dude’s lunch since we’re all about being fair in my family.  Cough.

The Verdict – Oddly, my older two thought the pizza rolls were too spicy.  They suggested we try making them with turkey.  Okay.  Turkey pizza.  Not a bad idea to roll lunch meat and cheese into the roll, but turkey pizza?  I thought they were pretty yummy, but you can’t really go wrong with a can of processed crescent roll, can you?

 

One Response to “Pizza! Pizza! Version II”

  1. […] And the tofu?  Yes, my kids are weird.  They like plain tofu.  Seriously, I steamed this in a bit of water and they ate it plain.  I sent some dipping sauce but both of them said they preferred it plain.  You know, as a side dish to their pepperoni pizza rolls. […]


Leave a Reply

