My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Harvest Lunch October 8, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 7:59 am

My intent for this lunch was “Harvest,” but my 4 1/2 year old had other ideas.  He looked at it and said, “Mommy, where are the ghostes (I love kid speak, don’t you?) and witches?  This is not a very good Halloween lunch!”  I do love my little food critic, but I think he’s spent a few too many minutes looking at all of the cute Halloween themed lunches lately, what do you think?

Anyhow, like I said, I was going for a Harvest theme…I had a lot of orange food in the fridge, a fresh loaf of pumpkin bread and my new  harvest cookie cutters.  I didn’t need a huge lunch today as it was a half day, so without further ado…

The Contents – zucchini pie muffin topped with a cojack pumpkin, pumpkin bread topped with a cojack apple, carrots, orange wedges and apple chunks.

The Details – Loved the color of this lunch:  oranges, reds and yellows.  So pretty.

The Verdict – Like I said, it was a half day, so I was expecting parts of the lunch to come home.  I was quite surprised to see all of my kids lick their boxes clean.  Then again, Dude came home and ate a taco, half an apple and hummus, plus half a turkey sandwich before piano and soccer…and then he came home from soccer and ate the other half of his sandwich, a bowl of cantaloupe and another taco.  Days like today, I wonder how I’m ever going to keep this boy fed.

 

Leave a Reply

