My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Gobble Gobble October 12, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 4:59 pm

My food critics questioned why on earth there was a turkey in their lunchbox when it was still October.  And really, when I set out to do this box, there were no thoughts of creating a turkey.  But really, what else are you supposed to do with candy corn besides create turkeys?  Isn’t that what everyone else does?  Anyone?

The Contents – The upper box contains pumpkin bread, hummus, goldfish and Wheat Thin Stix.  The lower box contains half a fuji apple, carrot sticks, cantaloupe and half a golden delicious apple.

The Details – This is a lunchtime favorite for Dude.  He loves dipping stuff  into hummus.  I do like this box as it allows me to send apple slices.  The smaller square boxes don’t accommodate slices as well and I end up having to cut apples into chunks in order to get quantity.

The Verdict – Oddly, no one complained that the turkey had flown south by lunch.  My youngest showed me his turkey and the candy corn had melted into the hummus, ick.  I guess my daughter had the right idea when she decimated her turkey this morning by pulling the entire thing apart before she packed her box into her backpack.  I guess we won’t be trying this creation again!

If you’re looking for cute Halloween-y lunches, make sure you check out What’s For Lunch.  There are some incredibly creative people out there.  I’m on the hunt for some Halloween picks – the little ghosts and bats are so cute!

 

3 Responses to “Gobble Gobble”

  1. Kendra Says:

    Love it! Maybe if you make a muffin turkey with the candy corn? Use cheese or carrots or something for hummus! But it also looks kind of like a monster, so that’s Halloween-y! 🙂

  2. I love the candy corn turkey, so cute!

  3. kim Says:

    Love the Halloween ideas! I wish my kids would/could eat all these fruits and vegetables.


Leave a Reply

