My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Frankenrice October 28, 2010

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 10:55 am

Another day, another Halloween box.

In much sadder news, I noticed that one of the lids of these boxes has cracked.  Oh the horrors!  Because I really like this box.  I still have two left, but I have three kids.  What’s a girl to do?

The Contents – a pumpkin apple, sugar peas, carrots, black grapes, a mini pumpkin muffin, mini rice cakes, pretzel sticks, a tofu ghost and of course, Frankenrice.

The Details – Like I’ve mentioned before, my kids love plain tofu, so they were quite excited to see the little tofu ghost.  Even though they first thought it was a duck.  Really?

The Frankenrice was easy to make, but time consuming.  I’m not sure I’d do him again unless I had leftover rice.  Boiling a pot of rice and then having to get the food processor out to make the edamame paste at 7:00 in the morning was a bit much.  Anyhow, the facial details are done with nori and his bolts are made of carrots.

The Verdict – My kids took a test bite of the edamame rice before school and gave it a thumbs sideways, so I am anxious to see if they’ll actually eat it.  Unfortunately, I realized on the way to school that I forgot to pack spoons, so that means they’ll have to borrow one from the cafeteria.  And knowing my kids, that could be a significant stopping point.  They get anxious about things like that.

I’ve been noticing my lunches are low in protein.  How do you get extra protein into your kids’ lunches?  The one who needs it most doesn’t do nuts or cheese and both my kids are turning their noses at eggs…

 

Leave a Reply

