My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Gung Hay Fat Choy! February 3, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 4:02 pm

Gung Hay Fat Choy!  I admit it – I am 100% Chinese and I am part of the generation that is letting tradition die.  My Caucasian friends do more to celebrate than I, its pathetic and one of my big parenting failures.  Every year, I aim to do better than the year previous, and every year, I fail.

This year is the Year of the Rabbit, so I tried to incorporate that into today’s lunch:

The Contents – orange and asian pear slices, carrot sticks, bunny noodle salad and a fortune cookie.

The Details – Oranges are often displayed in homes and business as a symbol of good luck and wealth.  In the Chinese language, the word “tangerine” sounds similar to “luck” and the word “orange” sounds similar to the word “luck.”  My “bunny salad” simply long noodles and shredded carrot, topped with bunny shaped tofu.  The long noodles represent longevity.

This wasn’t a very pretty box today – I couldn’t decide what to add next to the cookie, so I tried to embrace empty space, ha!

And I will confess that I broke all sorts of tradition in order to prepare their lunch.  Today I am not supposed to clean or cut – the tradition says that in doing so, I am possibly sweeping/washing/cutting away good luck.  So, seeing that I failed miserably on that end, if you have any extra luck laying around, you can send it my way 🙂

 

One Response to “Gung Hay Fat Choy!”

  1. Sharla Georgis Says:

    You are a GREAT Mom don’t be so hard on yourself!!!


Leave a Reply

