My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Breakfast for Lunch…and Cookies are in ‘da House! February 17, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 11:36 pm

Oops!  Missed a day as this week has gotten a little busy.  Today’s lunch (on the right) was nothing special so I won’t even blog about it except to mention one little detail…see that chocolaty goodness in the bottom corner there?  Those there would be Girl Scout cookies.  Samoas and Thin Mints to be exact.  I have 160 boxes of cookies sitting in my living room waiting to be sent off to their new homes.  Only four boxes are staying in my house, thank you very much.  For now.  We’ll see it all pans out.

On to healthier things.  I would say “better,” but let’s get real here.  What’s better than a Girl Scout cookie?

So yesterday’s lunch…we love breakfast for dinner when Daddy isn’t home.  I’d made bread earlier in the week and since the shelf life isn’t so long, french toast seemed like a good way to use it up.  We tried a new recipe – cinnamon, applesauce, eggs, milk and brown sugar.  Yummy.

The Contents – Apple and cantaloupe bites, french toast sticks, a chocolate heart and not shown, a small container of HFCS syrup.

The Details – The kids really liked this and seeing that I’m having a hard time getting my daughter to get enough grains into her diet these days, I may have to come up a uber healthy version of french toast and do this more often.  I used thick slice bread and then cut these into strips so I believe they were pretty easy to manage in the cafeteria.

The Verdict – Lunch boxes licked clean…7 year old boy forgot to put the lid on his leftover HFCS syrup.  That was a nice lunch box to clean out last night…

 

One Response to “Breakfast for Lunch…and Cookies are in ‘da House!”

  1. Sharla Georgis Says:

    I do this once a week with either pancakes or waffels. I also add little bites of sausage.


Leave a Reply

