My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

We’re Goin’ to the Zoo, Zoo, Zoo February 21, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 9:13 pm

One of the things I’ve struggled with as I’ve transitioned my kids to the Bento style lunches, is what to do when we are out and about.  There are definitely some perks to being able to toss your lunch bags and baggies out when you’re done eating.  I do have to admit that I’ve just gotten used to carrying empty containers around, but what I’m really aiming for is being able to have my kids responsible for their own stuff.  Have you gotten there?  And if so, how did you do it and at what age did this transition occur?

So in case you didn’t get it by the title of this post, our family headed to the zoo yesterday.  Except this wasn’t any zoo.  This zoo is for animals that are native to the northwest, and sets them in as close to a natural environment as possible.   While many of the animals are pretty domesticated and not too hard to spot, its pretty fun to be looking into the woods and see deer or elk.  Or to look to the edge of the lake and see a moose drinking water.

With this zoo being a 2-hour drive away, plus lots of fresh air walking, I knew we’d need lunch.

The Contents – apples, strawberries, pastrami and swiss cheese sandwiches, Flipz (white fudge covered pretzels) and a thin mint.

The Details – Nothing fancy…

The Verdict – These white fudge pretzels are ‘da bomb.  I didn’t think they’d be so good.  I think they are my new guilty pleasure.  I don’t even need to get into the (now) 170+ boxes of Girl Scout cookies in my house.  Flipz.  Go get some.

And, for your reading enjoyment if you’ve made it this far, my five year old, who has a way with words, got into another semantics argument with his sister.  She (correctly) claimed that the cheese in their sandwich was “baby swiss.”  And he argues back, “No it’s not!  Look, the holes are too big.  It’s BIG swiss!”

ETA – Linked to What’s for Lunch Wednesday!

 

Leave a Reply

