My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Asparagus February 28, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 9:26 pm

It amuses me to no end that my daughter asked me to put asparagus spears in her lunch.  I mean really, what kid likes asparagus?

The Contents – apple bites, kiwi, mandarin orange slices, asparagus spears, turkey sandwich on oat and honey bread, oatmeal-raisin cookies

The Details – So it turns out that 2 of my kids like asparagus.  Plain, steamed asparagus.  And only the ends – the tips grossed them out, texture-wise.  I thought they made a nice addition to her lunchbox, eh?

We also made oatmeal-raisin cookies yesterday.  They are so yummy.  We used this recipe, but substituted the chocolate chips with raisins, only because I was out of chocolate chips.  With the chocolate chips, they are absolutely to-die-for.  We also added 1 tsp of cinnamon.

The Verdict – I have noticed that my daughter never eats her sandwiches anymore.  She eats all her fruits and veggies, plus whatever sweet I send.  Grrr…I guess its time to get creative again.  My boys, however, inhaled every last crumb in their boxes!

 

Leave a Reply

