My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss! March 2, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 10:01 am

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!  My kids had fun guessing which story each part of their lunch came from.

The Contents – kiwi and strawberry bites decorated with a cat and house pick (The Cat in the Hat), goldfish crackers (1 Fish, 2 Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish – this was the best I could do), green  hard boiled egg and char sui (Green Eggs and Ham) and a raspberry and vanilla frozen yogurt pop (the cat’s hat).

The Details – Dying eggs.  I didn’t want to send the egg with a shell, so I peeled the egg and then soaked it in colored water.  The egg was green when I took it out,  but slowly started turning blue on me.  The darker ring is because I was too lazy to continuously rotate the egg 🙂  Char sui is bar-b-que’d Chinese pork.  My kids like it better than ham and it gave me the same effect for today.  And finally, I am hopeful the frozen yogurt pop stays frozen.  I hope it works out, as the kids were super excited about them, and if I can send these an an extra protein source, I will be ecstatic!

The Verdict – Like I said, the kids had fun guessing what story each part of their lunch represented.  A fun lunch to make.  It took a little forethought as I did the eggs and yogurt last night, but nothing too complex!

This lunch is linked up to What’s for Lunch Wednesday.  Maybe others will have some fun ideas to celebrate Dr. Seuss’ birthday!

 

Leave a Reply

