My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Utter Failure March 14, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 10:29 pm

Wow.  I’m not sure I’ve ever failed at a lunch as much as I did today.  Of course, they hated different parts of their lunch, that part is always par for the course, isn’t it?

The Contents – a donut hole (that part was good), apple slices, carrots sticks, celery and soynut butter for the girl, a strawberry-lime muffin and a tofurkey sausage.

The Details – So I made these muffins last night and the kids devoured them.  The recipe caught my eye because of the high amount of protein for a muffin – eggs and 1 1/4 cup yogurt?  Pretty good in my book.  Especially when you add in fresh fruit!  And like I said, the kids devoured them…when they were warm.   The kids didn’t like them cold, and truthfully, neither did I.  Is the recipe a keeper?  Probably not, but I’m glad I tried it.

And I threw a new one at my kids.  Tofurkey, aka tofu sausage.  The boy said they weren’t bad but the girl said they were so horrible that she had to run to the garbage can and spit it out.  My son wanted to know if she got into trouble since that’s a no-no in their cafeteria.  My mom-confession for today is that I’d sampled a bite this morning and promptly gagged and spit it into the compost.  Not much makes me gag, these were this bad.  But, knowing my kids have a taste for things that I do not (cotton candy ice cream with gummy bears, for instance), I thought I’d try.

The Verdict – So, my kids came home with sausage, muffins and carrots today.  And my son said he needed bigger lunches.  Oh well, can’t win them all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

