My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

My Very First Give Away! March 17, 2011

Filed under: 3 Day,Recipe — Sarah @ 2:49 pm

I’m going to do my very first give away!  I’ve only been at this blogging thing for a few months, but I’ve always wanted to do a give away – I’d been waiting for the right occasion, and today, I’ve finally found it.  Perhaps you’ve noticed that something I am passionate about is supporting cancer research.  If you’ve read my Three Day Journey link, you know while breast cancer seems to get the lion’s share of publicity, the funds raised actually support many types of cancer research.  This year, I have so many friends who will be doing the 3 Day Walk, and I am so proud of them!  I also have a couple friends who were diagnosed with breast cancer early this year, and it is both heartbreaking and inspiring to witness their own journeys.

Financially, I cannot support every friend who is walking, and so I am looking for other creative ways to help out where I can.  And here is where my blog comes in.  No, I’m not asking you to go sponsor them 🙂  But, I am asking you to submit your favorite recipe that will then be forwarded to one of my friends who is putting together a cookbook as part of her team’s fundraising efforts.  For every recipe you submit, you will receive one entry for the my drawing.  The winner will receive a square Lock ‘n Lock (my favorite box that many of you have asked about) and a pack of darling animal picks.

Here’s the rules:

1 – List each recipe individually in the comments section.

2 – Entries must be submitted by midnight PST, 3/19.  Not much time, I know, but that’s all the time I can give you.  Of course, you can submit recipes after that time but you won’t be included in the drawing.  I will post the winner by dinnertime on Sunday, 3/20.

3 – You may dedicate the recipe to someone.

That’s it.  Pretty easy.  Now go find your favorite recipe and start posting!

 

4 Responses to “My Very First Give Away!”

  1. […] – If you’ve visiting, please make sure that you check out this page for a very cool give […]

  2. Kristin Sigel Says:

    Texas “Caviar”

    Super easy and oh so tasty munchie…

    2 (15.8 ounce) cans black-eyed peas, drained
    1 (14.5 ounce) can petite diced tomatoes, drained
    2 fresh medium jalapenos, stemmed, seeded and minced
    1 can white corn, drained
    1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
    1 small onion, cut into small dice
    1/2 yellow bell pepper, stemmed, seeded and cut into small dice
    1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
    6 tablespoons red wine vinegar
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
    1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
    1 teaspoon dried oregano
    1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

    Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl; cover and refrigerate 2 hours or up to 2 days. Before serving, adjust seasonings to taste, adding
    extra vinegar, salt and pepper. Transfer to a serving bowl. Serve with tortilla chips.

  3. Kristin Sigel Says:

    Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

    1 pound sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
    1 cup chopped onion
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    5 cups beef broth
    1/2 cup water
    1/2 cup red wine
    1 1/2 – 2 cans petite diced tomatoes
    1 cup thinly sliced carrots
    1/2 tablespoon packed fresh basil leaves
    1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
    1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
    1 1/2 cups sliced zucchini
    8 ounces fresh tortellini pasta
    3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

    1. Cook sausage in 5 qt pot. Remove sausage and drain, reserving 1 tablespoon of the drippings.
    2.Saute onions and garlic in drippings. Stir in beef broth, water, wine, tomatoes, carrots, basil, oregano, tomato sauce, and sausage. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.
    3.Skim fat from the soup. Stir in zucchini and parsley. Simmer covered for 30 minutes. Add tortellini during the last 10 minutes. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese on top of each serving.

  4. Kim Says:

    Grandma’s Pancakes

    2 1/2 Cups flout
    3 large teaspoons baking powder
    1 teaspoon salt
    2 eggs
    1/3 C sugar
    2-2 1/2 C milk
    1 tablespoon vegetable oil

    Stir to combine, starting with smaller amount of milk. Add milk to get desired consistency. Heat skillet at medium low (4 out of 10) until hot. Use butter to grease the pan, if desired. Drop batter by 1/2 cup onto hot skillet. Cook until bubbles appear on the surface of the pancake. Flip pancake and cook about 1 minute more. Remove from skillet and keep warm until all pancakes are cooked. Serve with butter and your favorite syrup. Serves 4-6.


Leave a Reply

