My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

My Very First Winner! March 20, 2011

Filed under: 3 Day,Recipe — Sarah @ 7:50 pm

Congratulations, Kristin!

My very sophisticated random selector (aka, my middle child) has chosen your entry as the winner of the Lock ‘n Lock box and animal picks.  I will contact you directly so that I can get you your prize 🙂  Thanks for submitting this yummy recipe – can’t wait to try it myself!  And thanks, um, to both of my readers who submitted entries towards my friend’s cookbook!

Texas “Caviar”

Super easy and oh so tasty munchie…

2 (15.8 ounce) cans black-eyed peas, drained
1 (14.5 ounce) can petite diced tomatoes, drained
2 fresh medium jalapenos, stemmed, seeded and minced
1 can white corn, drained
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 small onion, cut into small dice
1/2 yellow bell pepper, stemmed, seeded and cut into small dice
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
6 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl; cover and refrigerate 2 hours or up to 2 days. Before serving, adjust seasonings to taste, adding
extra vinegar, salt and pepper. Transfer to a serving bowl. Serve with tortilla chips.

PS – Just to keep me honest, I opted not to research random number generators since there were only three entries.  Instead, while I was washing dishes and my son was shooting balls into the air, I asked him to pick a number between two and four.

 

Leave a Reply

