My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Pumpkin Gingerbread March 22, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 6:00 pm

Well, no thanks to technology issues, I don’t have a picture of today’s lunch.  I do, however, have a new “recipe” I wanted to share with you!  Without further ado:

The Contents – chicken and bean quesadilla, pear slices, strawberries, cantaloupe and pumpkin gingerbread

The Details – First things first.  Last night’s dinner of chicken and bean enchiladas left us with leftover filling, which was the perfect filling for today’s quesadillas.  I actually made the quesadillas last night, so all I had to do this morning was to cook them up.  I used a mix of refried black beans, chicken, cheese and enchilada sauce.  Yum.

On to the yummy “recipe.”  Note that I use the term recipe very lightly.  I was inspired by a friend’s FB post about making Hungry Girl’s brownie recipe that simply mixed a package of brownie mix and a can of pumpkin.  My family loves pumpkin flavored stuff, so I thought I’d try the same concept but with gingerbread mix.  I used a 15 (?) oz can of pumpkin – not the flavored pie stuff, just pumpkin and the Trader Joe gingerbread mix.  Mixed them together, baked at 350 for about 50 minutes.  It’s definitely a dense and moist cake, but it was pretty darn good!  I’m sure it’d be very, very good with cream cheese frosting!

I’d definitely do it again, considering all of the health benefits of pumpkin…in case you don’t know, a quick excerpt from wouldrathergather.  She says it better than I could summarize:

“Pumpkin is a bonafide super food. High in fibre, vitamins C and E, Magnesium, Potassium, Zinc and carotenoids, pumpkin flesh helps fight heart disease, boost the body’s immune system, helps produce collagen, is rich in antioxidants, helps lower the risk of  a variety of cancers, cataracts, and blindness, has anti-inflammatory properties and is a boon for reproductive health. It’s so amazing it probably would have been shorter to say what it doesn’t do. When a food is this good for you it normally tastes horrible and yet this gourd is de-lic-ious. It’s almost tragic most people think of them as outdoor lighting for fall.”

The Verdict – So, yes!  Definitely a keeper on mixing pumpkin into gingerbread mix.  I think I will try brownies next.  And another round of thumbs all the way on the quesadillas too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

