My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Spring Pasta Salad March 31, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 3:32 pm

I am behind again in sharing lunches, but last week was a busy week with half days and semi-expected, but requiring action news (got that?!?).  I did, however, want to share a new creation with you as my kids really, really liked it.

Last week was also our first week of our spring schedule, which means activities ending at 6:15 3x a week.  I’m getting a little tired of my crock pot so I am hoping to try out some new options this spring.  Last week we tried a new pasta salad recipe.  It was inspired by this.

For my family, I kept the dressing the same.  However, that’s where the similarities ended.  Instead of soba noodles, we used whole wheat spaghetti noodles and added snap peas, a grated carrot and frozen corn.  Earlier in the week, I had roasted a couple of chicken and had yummy leftovers to add into the salad.  I think it’d be really good with tofu and topped toasted sesame seeds too.

My family demolished most of it for dinner, but there was just enough leftover for lunch the next day.  We will definitely be making this again – it was really good cold, though my youngest requested that we warm it up and he ate it that way.

PS – If you are on a gluten free diet, make sure you check out the original recipe as this can be easily modified to suit your dietary needs.

 

Leave a Reply

