My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Pan Frying Potstickers, Peeps April 13, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Celebrations,Crafts,Recipe — Sarah @ 9:04 pm

I have all sorts of pictures for you today.

First, business as usual.  Lunch.  I still have no food in my fridge, and my morning went totally haywire.  My allergy boy had a fairly big allergic reaction to something he ate for breakfast – what, I don’t know as he’s had all of these foods before, even from the exact same package.  Thankfully, he is okay and this weekend we probably see if we can replicate the reaction.  But, because I was in the middle of making lunch when all heck broke loose, lunch got a little overcooked and thrown together as my daughter ran out the door.

The Contents – potstickers, frozen veggies, a mini banana muffin, 2 starburst, and not shown – mandarin oranges.

The Details – So the potstickers got a little overcooked.  Which is ironic because a friend called me yesterday to ask me how I cook them so that they turned out so nicely.  That made me laugh, because normally, I just throw them in boiling water and in my opinion, they look a little sickly, but the kids like them that way and it’s really the easiest method.  But the day she saw them, I pan fried them.  To pan fry potstickers:

  1. Heat a few tablespoons of oil in a pan over medium-high heat.
  2. Once it is heated, swirl it around the pan to coat.
  3. Layer potstickers in the pan.  They can touch, but don’t put them on top of each other.
  4. Add about 2/3 c warm water to the pan and cover.
  5. Cook for about 8 minutes until most of the liquid is evaporated.
  6. Take the lid of the pan and let cook for a few more minutes as the liquid continues to simmer off.  During this part, you can flip your potstickers if they are getting toasty.

Let the potstickers cool before putting the lid on your lunch – this will prevent them from getting mushy.  It is highly likely that they will soften up before your kiddo eats them.

The Verdict – Lunches eaten.  No one cared about the burnt potstickers, whew!

*****

Look at the bedtime snack my daughter made for herself.  If she is going to pick up any of my neurotic habits, this one isn’t so bad.  I’m guessing she also picked out an animal pick to eat it with – my kids like to eat bananas with picks.

*****

And finally, I can’t take credit for this, but I had to share:

I have no idea who made this, I wish I could tell him or her how much I love it.  But these are greeting me at the entrance of the church where my son goes to preschool.  Is this not the cutest thing you have ever seen?  The details are incredible, right down to the little glasses on Pastor Peep.  Even the banners and alter are pretty exact replications!

Anyhow, I am a little obsessed with Peep creations, so I had to share.  I am trying to decide if and how I should incorporate Peeps into our lunches…they seem like they’d get a little gross, no?

 

Linking up to What’s For Lunch Wednesday!

 


 

 

Leave a Reply

