My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Hippity, Hoppity Easter’s On It’s Way… April 15, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 11:47 am

First, Wednesday’s lunch a day late.  I was off playing with a friend yesterday and didn’t have a chance to post.  What were we doing?  Well, she was grocery shopping at the Asian food market, but I was obsessing over new lunch containers.  Always a good time, though it’s possible that my obsession with lunch containers might be nearing unhealthy.

The Contents – apple bites, half a banana, a strawberry to fill the space, cheez-its, a chocolate chip cookie and not shown, a thermos full of pan fried noodles w/ pork and veggies.

The Details – Here is an example of moving inserts around to make things work out.  The cookies I had were rather large, but cut in half and turned upright, they fit perfectly.  I didn’t want them touching the banana, so I just scooched the inserts around.

I know you’re all wondering about the pan fried noodles.  This was a dinner left-over.  I used an asian variety of noodles that will fry up nicely – they are a thinner, egg based noodle.  All the frying really does is crisp-en them up a bit and warms them through.  I had lots of leftover pork loin from the previous night, so I sliced that thin, sliced up some carrots, red peppers and onions and then made a sauce from the pork drippings and a bit of broth and cornstarch.  A kitchen sink recipe that turned out quite nicely with enough leftovers for lunch too 🙂

The Verdict – I was concerned this was actually too much lunch but my son ate all of his – like scraped-his-thermos-clean-ate-it-all.  My daughter, on the other hand, mostly ate her fruit and cookie.  I must get on her about eating more of her main dish.  I’ve noticed this “trend” and wonder if she’s just not growing much and not hungry, or if we are moving into a different phase of life and lunch has (finally) become social hour for her.

*****

On to my “Easter’s on it’s way” lunch.

The Contents – egg salad, crackers, fruit salad and bunny marshmallows and jelly beans.

The Details – Egg salad and crackers are a new favorite around here so that’s what they got today.  Next time we do this, I am going to have to get some pita bread as I think they’d like it that way too.

I have to admit, kiwi might be one of my most favorite fruits to use in a fruit salad.  I just think that their bright green color and black seeds make them look so cheerful, don’t you?  This fruit salad also had mango and strawberries for the girl and apples for the boys.

The Verdict  – So far my little one is turning his nose at the mango and kiwi…

By the way, did you see the movie, “Hop”?   Did that scene with the jelly bean pooping EB change the way you think about jelly beans?

 

Leave a Reply

