My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Hockey Sticks April 18, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Celebrations — Sarah @ 10:11 pm

Why “Hockey Sticks”?

My youngest has a strange speech thing going on where he will often swap out beginning or ending sounds of words, especially if he is missing the word from his vocabulary.  For example, the other day, he told me he was drinking from his “pug.”  Last night, he came up asking if he could eat a hockey stick.  I had no clue as to what he was talking about.  “You know, those chocolate hockey sticks!”  Given that he has a sport-obsessed brother, I took me awhile before I made right jump to “Pocky Stick.”  So, in his honor, here is his “hockey stick” lunch:

The Contents – half a turkey or ham sandwich on sourdough, Calabee snap peas, Pocky sticks and fruit salad.

The Details – One thing I like about doing lunch this way is the flexibility they can offer.  For instance, this is my daughter’s fruit salad:  strawberries, kiwi and asian pear.  My middle son got kiwi and asian pear.  And my youngest got asian pear.  Not really a salad, I know, but you get the point.  It’s pretty easy to just proportion out the fruit according to each kiddo’s likes and dislikes.

The Verdict – My daughter is becoming a sophisticated reviewer of her lunch:  She has often commented that her crackers and cheese get soggy.  My son claims that his doesn’t.  However, my son is really a little, shall we say, oblivious to such details about his food…so I just chalked it up to boys being boys.  However, today, my daughter claimed that her much anticipated Pocky sticks were not only soggy, but that they had also absorbed the flavor of the sourdough bread.  “Could you please not lay them on top of my sandwich, mom?  I mean, I could still eat them because the chocolate part was pretty well protected, but the uncovered part was just gross.”  Message well received, my dear.  Not that “pretty gross” didn’t stop you from eating the rest of the cooky.

And now, something to start thinking about.  Tomorrow, I will have more details.  But Friday is Earth Day, and I am going to challenge each of you to come up with a waste-free lunch on Friday.  I’m pretty sure you know what that means, but just in case you don’t, stop by tomorrow and we’ll chat more!

 

Leave a Reply

