My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

May 22, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 4:50 pm

Boy, I am really having trouble posting these days.  It’s the busy time of the year…my youngest is wrapping up his last year of preschool (gulp!) and there’s extra work there.  The dog.  And the sun.  We had almost a full week of sun (a huge deal around here) which meant we have been outside absorbing as much Vitamin D and fresh air as we can.

Then there is the issue that my kids are in somewhat of a lunch rut and I hate to bore you all with the exact same picture everyday:  Half a turkey sandwich on wheat, apple bites, carrot sticks, snap peas and a treat.  Believe me, I’m not complaining – it’s healthy and easy enough to make, but from a blogging standpoint, not all that interesting, eh?  That being said, here are a couple of non-turkey-sandwich bentos:

The Contents –  waffle sticks, 1/2 banana, pear bites, slices of deli turkey and a fruit by the foot

The Details –  Waffle sticks might be one of my favorite lunches.  I don’t know why, maybe it’s because my kids generally love them and they’re an interesting alternative to sandwiches.  In this case, these were leftover from breakfast.  I let them cool so they don’t get overly soggy – and I slice them into sticks so that they can be dipped into a small container of syrup.  One of these days, I am going to do PB&J sandwiches for my daughter out of waffles.  Seems like she’d like them.

The Verdict –  Inhaled by the boys, barely touched by the girl.

The Contents – leftover pizza, chocolate covered raisins, apple slices, carrot sticks, snap peas and veggie chips

The Details – The boys each got two slices of pizza (stacked, to take advantage of the depth of the box).  I like the way that the silicone muffin cups allow me to take full advantage of the space in this lunch box.  As you’ve perhaps noticed, I’ve also been playing around with the layout of this larger box by sliding the inserts around.  There is nothing worse than soggy chips 😉

The Verdict – “The best lunch ever!”  Pathetic, how pizza always gets that compliment…

 

Leave a Reply

