My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Post Father’s Day Lunch June 20, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 8:16 am

My husband likes to take the kids hiking for Father’s Day, which often means a late but hurried dinner on the grill.  Yesterday was no exception.  Today’s lunch takes advantage of the leftovers.  The timing is appropriate too, as I get to answer an outstanding question for one of my readers about hotdogs.

The Contents –  A hotdog, chips, nectarines and frozen peas and corn

The Details – A reader asked, “Do you warm your hotdogs before packing them?”  Once I ascertained that the hotdogs are in fact cooked, the answer is no – I just pack them cold.   The reasons are twofold.  First, without wrapping them, there is no way they’d stay warm for my kids’ later lunch hours.  Second, warming them would cause the bun to get soggy which would not fly for my kids (or me, for that matter). 

The Verdict – I love that my kids were more excited to see the nectarines than the chips or hotdogs.  I hate to break it to them that once I cut into the fruit, I realized it could use another warm afternooon to fully ripen up.  Sigh.

Here is what my daughter ate last week while my son was having his various celebratory lunches:  Crackers, cheese, lunchmeat, carrots, cucumber slices, and lemon star cookies.  All I have to say about her lunch eating habits these days, is that atleast she ate it.  Tweens.  Ugh.

 

Leave a Reply

