My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

KaChow! Lightening McQueen Birthday Party June 24, 2011

Filed under: Birthday Parties — Sarah @ 10:51 am

In honor of Cars2 coming out today, I thought it would be appropriate to share the Lightening McQueen birthday party I did for my little guy a couple of years ago.  He was and still is a HUGE Cars fan.  It’s fun to see his excitement over the release of the new movie.  Marketing at it’s best, eh?

For this party, we invited three of his best buds (they still are) and their moms for a morning of fun.  I actually opted to host this party during the day when the big kids were at school, as even the best big kids have a way of skewing a party.  And once I got past my guilt, I am really glad I did it this way.  There is nothing like unabashed three year old fun. 

The first activity was to make our own cars.  Each child received a plain cardboard box that I had previously wrapped in red paper (found on clearance post-Christmas) and attached straps using wide red ribbon (also found on a post-Christmas clearance sale).  I’d just picked up a stash of boxes from the liquor store (seriously) and these proved to be the perfect size.  Each child also received four black plates and brads, and I set out construction paper, stickers, letters and glue sticks and let the kids have at it.  Excuse the blurry picture!

Once the kids finished their cars, they got to run them through the race course I’d set up in the house.  There were a few “ramps” to go up, a carwash (streamers hanging from a door), a gas pump to fill up at.  Our house has a loop, and really, just running the loop through the carwash may have been their favorite part!

Once the little guys needed to refuel, we did cake:

 

We used his collection of Cars cars to decorate this cake.  The top layer served his friends, and we save the bottom layer for the family party the next day.  At the time, I couldn’t find race car flags, so I just made those, but since then, they seem to be all over the place.  Hard to see, but in the middle of the bottom layer, there small stack of mini Oreos, ala, discarded tires.  Here’s a couple more close-ups of the cake. 

So…I know what we’re doing this weekend.  What about you?

 

2 Responses to “KaChow! Lightening McQueen Birthday Party”

  1. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

