My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Summer Snacks August 10, 2011

Filed under: Snacks — Sarah @ 9:52 pm

We’re having one of those weeks where we are home, but 6 million kids are filtering though my house for various reasons.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, I love it.  But that’s a lot of kids.  And a lot of kids can eat a lot of food.  I hate turning them loose in my pantry.  Mostly because I don’t want them to get hurt when cans and boxes start tumbling, but also because that can get really expensive without filling them up.

Here’s what I’ve been doing this week.  Financially, it’ll still add up, but atleast the kids are filling up on good stuff. 

This platter was just for my kids, hence the smaller portions of chocolate covered pretzels (and yes, I portioned them out equally to avoid squabbling later) but they still ate it all over the course of a few hours.  Another day, I just put out a big platter of watermelon.  Another day it was grapes and peaches.  I always have frozen yogurt tubes which I do allow to be eaten in unlimited quantities, and if I had cheese eating kids, I’d add that too.  I know veggies would over go well too.

I love that none of the kids asked for granola bars, crackers or cookies.  They grabbed pieces of fruit as they ran past and before I knew it, an entire platter of fruit would be demolished.  Gotta love it!

 

Leave a Reply

