My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

3 Kid Circus Test Kitchen August 31, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 9:52 pm

Today I had seven kids over for lunch, so I thought, “What a perfect time to test out a few of these muffin recipes!”  Plus, one of the kids is a muffin fanatic, so I figured he could give me the ultimate review.  I served watermelon, apple slices, and three varieties of muffins.  I told the kids they didn’t have to be polite today and that I wanted real, honest feedback.  How often do you get to have lunch at a friend’s house and get to say that lunch sucks?  Amazingly, everyone found something they liked and 7 kids ate through a full three batches of muffins over the course of the day.

Just to keep things real, I served all of these muffins at room temperature.  And I offered condiments including pizza sauce, ketchup and mustard. 

First up were last night’s leftover Pizza Puffs.  I was a bit surprised that only my boys ate those.  What kids don’t eat pepperoni pizza?  

Next up, I did a variation on the Pizza Puffs.  It seems that a close second for pizza topping choices amongst the kid population is cheese, so I pulled the pepperoni on this batch.  I also made them into a mini muffin since I figured the boy who would likely enjoy them most, also is a mini muffin kind of guy anyhow.  

 

They turned out pretty cute, and sure enough, the kiddo who I thought might like them best, devoured four.  Three other boys tried them but didn’t give them the greatest reviews.  I suspect that my boys will polish them off tomorrow, however, when there is no other choice. 

What I like about these muffins is that they are packed with protein.  A full batch (which is approximately 18 mini or 9 regular muffins) has 2/3 c milk, an egg and 1 1/4 cheese.  There are actually very few carbs, most of the bulk of the batter is added by the cheese.

Just a couple of notes about the original recipe – I omitted the salt and I used non-fat milk. 

The last muffin I tested out today were the Corn Dog Muffins.  They were by far the biggest hit.  I made 16 and could have used another 16.  

Corn Dog Muffins

Preheat oven to 400.

Boil several hot dogs.  In this batch, I used 3 hot dogs but all of the kids agreed that they would have liked them even more if there was more meat.   Once hot dogs are cooked through, slice and set aside.   

(I used the Alber’s Corn Bread Recipe for my base)

Grease muffin tins.  Prepare batter.

  • 1 cup Albers® White or Yellow Corn Meal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Spoon batter into muffin tins.  Fill about 1/2 to 2/3 full.  These muffins will rise slightly.  Poke hot dog slices into batter.

Bake for 20 minutes or until slightly brown.  Serve with ketchup and/or mustard…or if they are my kids, pizza sauce.

Next time I make these, I am going to actually try chopping the hot dogs into smaller bits and mixing it directly into the batter.

All in all a fun lunch! 

 

 

4 Responses to “3 Kid Circus Test Kitchen”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Those corn dog muffins look amazing. I use the same base cornbread recipe, so I’ll have to try them with the hot dog slices. I’ve also tried that same cornbread recipe with stone-ground cornmeal – It’s a little grittier at first than the Albers degermed cornmeal, but after a few hours, the stone-ground corn softens a little and they’re nice and chewy.

    Thanks for the great ideas!

    • Sarah Says:

      Absolutely! I’ve also done this cornbread recipe with rice flour for a gluten free version and it makes for a much smoother muffin. Yummy, as I generally don’t like cornbread as it is too gritty for me. Good to know that the stone-ground can have the same end result?

  2. Adrian Says:

    I am loving your recipe and your posts! (JUst found your blog yesterday through ‘Whats for lunch Wednesday’) and I am loving your style. The pizza puffs are so high up in my list right now!


Leave a Reply

