My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Lunch Box Test Drive September 2, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 9:42 pm

Today, my kids and I had an appointment at my college alma mater, and then it was such a nice day, we decided to take a picnic lunch so that we could visit some of the fun neighborhoods that surround the campus.  It gave me a chance to see how my baby (yes, I will keep referring to him as my baby, at least for another five days, but who’s counting) could manage  his lunch box before he starts kindergarten next week.  I confirmed that 1) he is still not able to actually sit and eat a meal, 2) he eats non-proteins first…and therefore if he runs out of time, he’ll miss the more filling part of his lunch and 3), he is able to manage unpacking and repacking his lunch box.  He was super excited to try out his new lunch box and spork today!

Spork?!?  What’s that?  You can see one down below, but it’s basically a spoon on one end and a fork on the other.  And as my kids like to point out, a knife on edge of the fork.  Which to them, is entirely hilarious, because how many times have I warned them about putting a knife in their mouth?  Anyhow, it’s been a good lunch box addition for our family.

The Contents – Fruit salad, booty and egg muffins

The Details – I amended my original egg muffin recipe by taking out the bread completely and my kids loved it.  I simply lined my muffin tin with slices of deli ham and poured the egg mixture over that.  I popped a couple frozen peas into each muffin for color…next time I will also tuck the ham edges into the egg as the exposed edges burned.  The muffins didn’t rise too much, so I was able to stack two muffins on top of each other for those with a bigger appetite.

The fruit salad was a compilation of overripe fruit that was at risk for becoming a home for a new batch of fruit flies:  pears, kiwi, grapes and nectarines.  Yummy.

The Verdict – Kids loved the egg muffins and I think this will be our “final” version.  My kids, who were full of all sorts of questions today wanted to know how it was possible for booty to get soggy and stale at the same time.  Oops.  Guess when fruit salad is this ripe, it needs to go into its own container!

 

Leave a Reply

