My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

First Day of School September 7, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 10:50 pm

Today was the first day of school for ALL my kiddos. Yes, all three are off to new adventures. This mama had a teary morning with her baby heading out into the big world. All my kids came home with glowing reports, however, and I think we are going to have a great year.

We did have a few lunch snafus. Like my older son’s lunch box is a few centimeters too small to send a food thermos, drink thermos and box of fruit. And my daughter switched to a small purse like bag without warning. Oh, and don’t put ice cubes in your food thermoses too cool them. The ice freezes to the sides, and then your husband will have to rescue the day while berating you for not grasping simple science concepts.

Here is what they ate, as requested by the new kindergartener:

20110907-105753.jpg

The Contents: egg salad for the boys (packed in their thermoses), peanut butter for my daughter, ritz crackers, apple slices, carrot sticks and a piece of candy of their choosing.

The Details: My daughter is in heaven. We found these individual cups of peanut butter which is a reasonable compromise for me since we have a peanut allergy in the household. It is so hard for her to love something so much but not have good access to it. The kid literally asks for a jar of pb every birthday! Anyhow, I am sure this is controversial to some, but it is how we will try rolling. She takes it to school, is careful with it there and dumps her garbage there.

The Verdict: Apparently lunch is a bit short with a few new rules this year and my kids were not impressed with any part of it other than their lunch contents. Gotta love ’em! They would have licked their boxes clean if they had time. I was glad to see my baby ate almost all his healthy food and left the candy 🙂

PS – Sorry about the updates for my subscribers.  Wrote this post from my iPad and the app doesn’t seem to be as smooth as I’d like.

 

3 Responses to “First Day of School”

  1. So glad K is getting her PB fix now. I love those little containers.

  2. Mary Panza Says:

    How did I miss that you were blogging about lunches? Very cool!


Leave a Reply

