My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Egg Salad Pockets September 19, 2011

Filed under: Bento — Sarah @ 9:30 pm

20110919-045451.jpg

The Contents – Egg salad in mini pita pockets, grapes, apples, steamed carrots. Oreos.

The Details – This was a lunch of refrigerator clean ups: a few leftover pitas from last week, the last of the eggs and leftover carrots from dinner. The kids asked for leftover cake from my hubby’s birthday dinner but I couldn’t make it fit. Maybe tomorrow, if they don’t devour it tonight 🙂

The Verdict – What can I say? A  not-too-exciting lunch that filled their bellies. I noticed that they all came home and ate protein so maybe it wasn’t enough or they’re all getting ready to grow.

Here is a question for all you readers: My kids get snacks at school. This year, two of them bring their own everyday. If your kids do this, what are their favorites? So far I have been packing fruit or veggies and a few crackers. Other healthy snack ideas?

 

 

2 Responses to “Egg Salad Pockets”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I have a question for you. Do your kids not care if the fruit in their lunch turns brown? Mine do and while I can stop it a bit with lemon juice, today I sent cut up nectarines with my little man (rightly) complained they looked pretty gross by the time lunch rolled around. Suggestions? Ideas?

    As for snacks, A usually just takes a few wheat thin crackers. It’s hard enough to find fruits and veggies she’ll eat in lunch at all, let alone for snack, so I’m fine with her just eating a few crackers. I wish she would be a better eater. She’s the hardest to pack lunches for.

    • Sarah Says:

      Some fruit they are okay with – for instance, they love apples so much I think they’d eat them rotten. Bananas, not so much, so you’ll seldom see them in my lunches. I have found that some fruits just pack better in larger pieces – ripe pitted fruits and pears come to mind. I also find that my kids complain less if I pack those types of fruit into a fruit salad. Have you tried packing fruit into a thermos? Seems like it gets less slimy when it is colder. I haven’t tried this, but keep meaning to.

      Thanks for the snack feedback. It is hard, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

