My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Family Dinners November 8, 2011

Filed under: Bento,Recipe — Sarah @ 9:00 pm

Soccer season is almost over.  Don’t get me wrong, of all of the sports my kids play, soccer is my absolute favorite and it actually makes me sad to know that the season is ending.  Practices end at the end of October because that is what the league and school district/fields negotiate and really, with the time change, we’d be practicing in the pitch dark.  My most favorite thing about soccer ending though, is that I have been able to put real dinners on the table three nights in a row this week.  Sunday night we had leftover lasagne and acorn squash.  Monday, we had this:

 

It’s called Oslo Pork and I got the recipe from a friend several years ago.  I have no idea the source, I just know it’s good.  And easy.  And my whole family loved it and fought over who would take the leftovers for lunch.

Ingredients

  • 4 pork chops
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 2 T vinegar
  • 2 beef boullion cubes
  • 1 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 t dry mustard
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1/2 medium onion, sliced

Preaheat oven to 350.  Season pork chops with salt and pepper.  Brown both sides over medium high heat.  Meanwhile, combine sugar, vinegar and Worcestershire sauce.  Add water and boullion.  Place pork chops into 8×8 pan.  Make a couple one inch slits in the pork chops.  Pour sauce over meat.  Add sliced onion.  Bake at 350 until desired doneness, about 45 minutes.

Remove from oven and slice pork chops into 1/2 inch slices.  Mix with onions and sauce.  Remove about half the sauce and pour into sauce pan to make a gravy (to do this, whisk together cornstarch and cold water and then drizzle into sauce and whisk over high heat until sauce comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and keep whisking until sauce thickens).  Pour gravy back over meat and toss.

Our family ate this with rice and applesauce.  Yummy.

Tonight we had Carmelized Chicken Legs.  I wish I had a picture, they were so pretty and golden.  And so good that my five year old ate three chicken drums.  This kid is going to eat me out of house and home.  We had these with oven baked white and sweet potatoes.  My kids love these and they are fast becoming a most requested side-dish.  I love that the three of us who prefer sweet potatoes can have that craving met, and the two that prefer white can have those and no one complains.  No complaining at the dinner table is always a big plus.  Actually, I have to admit that my kids are very complimentary at the dinner table.  My boys will make their future wives very happy. 

And finally, today’s lunch:

 

It’s not terribly exciting:  apples, carrots/cucumbers/peas, bagel with cream cheese and pretzel thins.  But this isn’t just any cream cheese, this is Pumpkin Cream Cheese.  My friend made it a couple of weeks ago for her own birthday brunch, and it’s like having a pumpkin pie for lunch.  So good.  We’re almost out, and then I am going to lick the jar clean, it is that good.

 

3 Responses to “Family Dinners”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I bought pork chops today to try your recipe since it sounds so good. Do you think you could make it in a crock pot after browning the chops first? I might just try it.

    Glad you all enjoyed the pumpkin cream cheese. I used the recipe I pinned on pintrest but I think I added slightly more sugar. Not much, but just a bit more. Of course, you can adjust it to your taste. 🙂

    • Sarah Says:

      Possibly too late, but I bet this recipe would do well in the crock pot. You would obviously have to thicken up the gravy as a last step. The original recipe gives the option of serving this with a thin sauce as well – my family just liked it better with the gravy. Sticks to your ribs during these cooler days 🙂

      Let me know how it works out, if you try it!

  2. Heidi Says:

    It’s in the crockpot as I type this. 🙂 It smells great. Here’s hoping my family likes it. I have such a hard time finding crockpot meals that they like. In fact, I only recently purchased a new crockpot again after getting rid of the one I had. It kept burning everything, and then it cracked so I just got rid of it. I just bought one of the smaller crockpots on sale at Fred Meyer the other day, so this will be our first attempt for a long time.


Leave a Reply

