My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Countdown to Random Acts of (Christmas) Kindness November 30, 2011

Filed under: Celebrations — Sarah @ 10:29 pm

My kids are ready to go. I love it. So ready that we ended up starting today. Which is maybe a good thing since this weekend is forecasted to be a bit busier than I originally planned.

Today was mostly about preparing. We made tags that we’ll use throughout the month. I’m not a fancy girl so this is what our tags say:

You’ve been RACK’d! This Christmas season, our family is counting down the days by performing 24 Random Acts of Christmas Kindness. Kindness is contagious ~ pass it on!

We printed these out on our computer and mounted them onto red or green cardstock.

We also did a bit of shopping for the little girl that we adopted through my kids’ school. It breaks my heart when these kids NEED shoes, socks, hats and mittens. We also found her a baby doll and a soccer ball for her older brother.

And we did a bit of RACK’ing. Is that a verb? My little guy has always had a big heart and he’s also always had his own version of English. Today is a good example of this. He woke up and said, “Mama, today I want to bring fruit to the houseless!” So that we did. We packed up a bag of fruit (and crackers and peanut butter) and planned to distribute fruit when we were in the city visiting Santa this afternoon. When we got into the city, he found a woman sitting on a stool surrounded by bags – in a posh mall. He asked if he could approach her but my middle son was quite insistent that she was not homeless. We talked about how it is not up to us to determine if someone needs an extra bit of food…and that if she didn’t really need it, she’d hopefully pay it forward or say “no thanks.” After we had that settled, my almost-6-year-old pulled out some fruit and walked up to her and asked if she would like it. You should have seen the smile on this woman’s face. “Are you sure you don’t want it?” she asked. “No, you can have it,” he replied.

Our second stop was also a woman, this one with a dog at her side. She was offered the rest of the bag and again, my little guy was rewarded with a big smile and a huge thank you. As I suspected she might do, the woman immediately showed her dog the contents of the bag. “Look, Precious! Fruit!” she said to her. If her dog likes apples as much as our, both of them will have slightly fuller bellies tonight.

 

One Response to “Countdown to Random Acts of (Christmas) Kindness”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I meant to update my blog tonight with our list of things we want to do, but fell asleep while reading to Alyssa (she fell asleep first) and didn’t wake up until 11:30 at which time I jumped out of bed so I could put in my Shutterfly order before midnight to get the discount deal on cards. We are starting tomorrow too, but I love your idea for the cards. I need to make some of those too! Tomorrow, we’ve decided, we will walk home from school and pick up any garbage we find on our way home. We were going to walk to school, but since there is a AM Skippinriffics practice, we decided to walk home instead. 🙂 Thanks again for such a great idea and inspiring us to join you in your Random Acts of Christmas Kindness.


Leave a Reply

