My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

RACK’ing Day 8…Is it Working? December 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 10:14 pm

I’ll be the first to admit, part of the goal of participating in RACK’ing is that I want being kind to become a way of life for my kids.

Our “planned” activity was to assemble bags to deliver to the homeless, and we did do that, but what is really share-worth today are my kids’ reports of things that they did on their own, without my prompting:

*My kindergartener helped a classmate open his carton of milk. I love that he was so excited to come home and tell me all about it!

*He also made a card for a schoolmate battling leukemia.

*My daughter helped a teammate on her jump rope team who is working hard to accomplish several new tricks. This is a big deal for my daughter because she has a hard time in a “teaching role.” It was made more special because we got an email from the girl’s mom thanking my daughter!

*My daughter also set the table without being asked. Hey, it’s the small things that count!

*My middle son asked if we could decorate the entrance of our division as an RACK…hoping we can get to this before someone beats us to it!

A reader asked what we were going to put into our homeless kits, and it took me a bit to figure this one out. Here’s what we ended up compiling:

*Hygiene kits, including a toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, shampoo/conditioner, hand sanitizer, Kleenex, a razor, bars of soap – all packed into a ziplock bag

*Food, including a couple apples, tuna, green beans, granola bars, apple sauce, peanut butter, crackers, Christmas candy, ramen noodles, a couple packets of cocoa

*Survival supplies, including a large plastic bag and a stocking cap

*We also have a special bag of dog food/treats if we run into someone that has a dog

Most everything from the hygiene kits came from my linen closet. Most of these are sample sized items or overstock (like the toothbrushes and floss that we seem to get in bulk from the dentist…or maybe we just don’t have good dental hygiene J). I did buy food, but I bought things that could be divided. And the dog stuff we just had from a dog “party” that we went to and got a ton of samples that we are sharing. Trying to figure out how we could pack a warm meal too, but I’m not sure if our schedule will allow it…

 

Leave a Reply

