My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Snacks March 13, 2012

Filed under: Recipe,Snacks — Sarah @ 3:10 pm

Today’s post is about snacks.  Do your kids get snack time at school?  Personally, I think it’s a bit silly, especially as my kids get older, but it is what it is.  I do like that my second and fourth grader bring their snacks from home.  My kindergartener gets a “community” snack which is often cereal or crackers.  I like that my older kids can bring a snack, because very often, they will choose to bring fruit or cut up veggies.  Or lately, nori 🙂

Sometimes though, I send one large container of snack for the week.  This week, we had lots of this-and-thats in the pantry, so it was a good week to do a trail mix of sorts:

Goldfish, mini chips-ahoy cookies, pretzels, wheat thins, marshmallows, cheerios.  Dried fruit and nuts would be good too, if I had any.  They were super excited for this mix.  I was mostly happy to clear several mostly empty boxes and bags from the pantry.

I’ve also been experimenting with a few recipes for healthier treats.

These homemade s’mores granola bars turned out pretty good.  All the kids agreed that there was too much honey so I may tinker with that a bit.  This particular recipe filled my mini loaf pan perfectly, and then I cut each larger bar into sixths.  You can find the recipe here.  It was really easy, and I even made my own granola, following the recipe that’s linked up in the aforementioned post.  The only change I made was that I only added half a cup of marshmallows and a handful of chocolate chips. I’ll definitely do these again.

What’s this?  This is a pan of gummy fruit snacks.  But I wouldn’t call them gummy fruit snacks.  Maybe pureed fruit jello?  Another easy recipe found here.  I used a combination of a blackberries, raspberries and blueberries and cran-raspberry juice.  I thought they were okay, one kid thought they were good, another didn’t like them at all and the third hasn’t had a chance to try them.  Not sure I’ll try this combination again, but it was so easy that I’d consider a different fruit combination.  Something sweeter, I think.

Of course, hands-down, the favorite “snack” that I made this week was the rice krispy treats.  Sometimes you just can’t beat the classics!

 

Leave a Reply

