My Three Kid Circus

This may be as crazy as it gets… but we're lovin' it!

Airplane Baby Shower May 29, 2012

Filed under: Celebrations — Sarah @ 10:05 pm
Tags: ,

It’s been a long time since I’ve hosted a baby shower.  In fact, I’m not entirely sure that I’ve even hosted one before last week.  There aren’t too many new babies gracing my days any more, so when a good friend of mine announced her pregnancy, there was definitely a lot of excitement!  And I have to say, this was one of my most favorite parties I’ve ever hosted.

For starters, there were no screaming kids.  Just kidding.  Sort of.  Really though,  this was just a brunch for all of the mamas.  All the big kids were in school, and it was such a treat to be able to enjoy adult conversation and an uninterrupted meal.

Second, the shower was simply at my house.  So many people offered to bring food to share and another mom and I had been looking for an excuse to craft together, so she helped me with all of the decorations.  This “village” mentality is so important.  Together, we can do so much more.  I can’t tell you how much happiness it brings me to know that I have these sort of friends.

We chose the theme of the shower to match this little baby’s new nursery…light blues and airplanes.  I chose red as an accent color, just because it looked good.

Here’s a peek at some of the festivities:

A clothesline of sweet baby clothes.  My friend and I purchased the clothes at the local consignment store so we could stay on budget.  She made all of the little airplane clothespins.  Wish I had a close up as they were so stinkin’ cute!  To make them, she spray painted a regular clothes pin in baby blue and popsicle sticks in red (both a regular length and the shorter length).  Assemble, and it’s pure cuteness.

The drink table.  This table was draped in blue bed sheet…and my daughter’s American Girl picnic blanket.  A bit of subway art, a teddy bear holding an airplane and again, cuteness!  We took this picture before the punch arrived, but my friend made a yummy blend of sherbet and 7-Up.  Can’t go wrong with the classics!  Speaking of classics, see those little juice glasses?  I think they’re from the 50’s…my grandma gave them to me in their original packaging and every time I use them, I think of her.  They’re nothing special when you glance at them, but to me, they’re the “good stuff,” since they came from my grandma.

The food.  A wonderfully collective effort.  The table was draped in a light blue plastic table cloth…and then re-draped with a smaller classic red checked tablecloth.  We had a couple of salads (green and pasta), a fruit platter, tea sandwiches and croissants.  My friend was so tickled that I brought out the good china, but better excuse to use the good stuff than a new life?

And last but not least, dessert.  Another checked table cloth overlaid with a baby blanket.  See that diaper cake back there?  I take absolutely no credit for that one.  Another crafty friend made that.  Isn’t it the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?  She also brought red velvet cupcakes, and I whipped up a batch of lemon cupcakes.

The final touch were all of the banners my crafty friend and I made.  I don’t know why we didn’t get any pictures of those.  Lots of shades blue with splashes of red tied onto twine.  Actually, the final touch was that the weather was perfect.  One of the first really warm days we have had and I was able to move the whole shower outside.

What a great day of celebrating new life!

6/1 – Edit

My friend sent me some more pictures so you could see the darling banners.  Enjoy!

Baby

Welcome

A closer up of the diaper cake and clothespin airplanes

 

One Response to “Airplane Baby Shower”

  1. Anne Wester Says:

    Aw, I just saw this, a summer without much internet access has put me way behind in my blog following. I loved the baby shower, so glad you put pictures on here, I have to say that it was one of my favorite days ever spend with friends. It was pretty much perfect thanks to you and every one elses generosity. Me and the kids miss you and your family dearly, baby Blake is doing so great, we are seriously in love over here, it was such a great start to having a baby to share such a fun day with friends. And Blake has quite the wardrobe thanks to the wonderful gifts he received. I have to say that of all the clothes he got, the airplane footed fuzzy jammies that hung on the back fence for decoration are my very favorite. Love and miss you, Anne


Leave a Reply

